Germany (1921)

Director: Ernst Lubitsch

Music: Eduard Künneke

THE LOVES OF PHARAOH was the penultimate film Ernst Lubitsch shot in Germany and his last large-scale production. He hoped the work would finally win over Hollywood studios, as his future would lie in America. Shortly after its completion, the film had its New York premiere on February 22, 1922 and went down as a huge success.

With Emil Jannings in the title role as Pharaoh Amenes, the director had engaged one of the most famous male actors of the time. For the battle scenes in THE LOVES OF PHARAOH, Ernst Lubitsch directed an army of one thousand extras, and a dozen horses were employed. Some shots were filmed from a hot air balloon above.

The film was only available in black-and-white until the Federal Film Archive and the Munich Film Museum undertook a major initiative, engaging the company Alpha-Omega, which specializes in film processing, to effect a digital restoration. The work was based on two tinted nitrate copies from the Russian State Archive „Gosfilmofond“ and the George Eastman House in the USA Explanatory titles now complete missing parts of the plot; but most of all, the original colors, which augment the dramatic effect of the monumental film, have been restored. 

MUSIC: Ernst Lubitsch commissioned Eduard Künneke to write the original music for THE LOVES OF PHARAOH, who submitted a symphonic score that was well-tailored to the work. The music reveals not only the incredibly wide range of Künneke‘s compositional abilities but manages to clearly underscore the dramaturgy of the characters in the various plotlines of the film. Eduard Künneke’s score, which was largely acquired through the artist’s estate, serves as the model for a new orchestral recording that has been adapted to the restored frames of the film.

THE STORY: Ernst Lubitsch, in one of his last German-made films, creates a biting satire of authority transported to an oriental fantasy land. The Ethiopian King Samlak (Paul Wegener) offers the powerful Pharaoh Amenes (Emil Jannings) his daughter Makeda as bride in order to ensure peace between the countries. What is planned as a political maneuver ends in a love affair. The Pharaoh takes an interest not in Makeda but the beautiful slave Theonis, long in love with the young Egyptian Ramphis. The disappointed Samlak thereupon declares war to Amenes. The Pharaoh succumbs and appears to be dead, but not for long. And so the happiness of Theonis and Ramphis only lives for a short while...

INSTRUMENTATION: – – timp.2perc – hp – strings



The project was supported by ZDF/ARTE.

contact: Beate Warkentien

Phone +49 (0) 30 27890-194

DAS WEIB DES PHARAO

Deutschland (1921)

Regie: Ernst Lubitsch

Musik: Eduard Künneke

DAS WEIB DES PHARAO war der vorletzte Film, den Ernst Lubitsch in Deutschland drehte, seine letzte Großproduktion. Mit diesem Werk wollte er die Studios in Hollywood endgültig von seinen Qualitäten überzeugen, denn in Amerika sollte ja seine Zukunft liegen. Sehr bald nach der Fertigstellung feierte der Film am 22. Februar 1922 in New York seine äußerst erfolgreiche amerikanische Premiere.

Mit Emil Jannings in der Hauptrolle des Pharao Amenes hatte der Regisseur einen der damals berühmtesten männlichen Schauspieler verpflichtet. Bei den Schlachtszenen in DAS WEIB DES PHARAO dirigierte Ernst Lubitsch ein Heer tausender Statisten. Dutzende von Pferden wurden eingesetzt, und einige der Aufnahmen wurden aus dem Ballon von oben gedreht.

Lange Zeit war der Film nur in gekürzten Schwarzweiß-Kopien zu sehen, bis er in einer großen Restaurierungsaktion, initiiert durch das Bundesarchiv-Filmarchiv und das Filmmuseum München, von der auf Filmbearbeitungen spezialisierten Firma Alpha-Omega digital restauriert wurde. Grundlage waren zwei viragierte Nitrokopien aus dem russischen Staatsarchiv Gosfilmofond und dem George Eastman House, USA. Erklärende Titel ergänzen nun fehlende Handlungsteile; vor allem sind die ursprünglichen Farben wiederhergestellt, die die dramatische Wirkung des Monumentalfilms unterstützen. 

MUSIK: Die Originalmusik zu DAS WEIB DES PHARAO hat Ernst Lubitsch bei Eduard Künneke bestellt, der eine dem Werk angemessene, symphonische Partitur vorlegte. Diese Musik zeigt nicht nur das äußerst variantenreiche kompositorische Können Künnekes, sondern unterstreicht sicher die Dramaturgie der Charaktere in den jeweiligen Handlungssituationen des Films. Die Partitur von Eduard Künneke, die zu großem Teil im Nachlass des Künstlers erhalten ist, diente als Vorlage für eine neue Orchestereinspielung, die an die Restaurierung der Filmbilder angepasst wurde.

INHALT: Ernst Lubitsch setzt in einem seiner letzten in Deutschland entstandenen Filme zu einer bissigen Herrschaftssatire an, angesiedelt in einem orientalischen Phantasieland. Der äthiopische König Samlak (Paul Wegener) dient dem mächtigen Pharao Amenes (Emil Jannings) seine Tochter Makeda an, um mit einer Heirat den Frieden zwischen den Ländern zu sichern. Was als politischer Schachzug geplant war, endet in Liebeshändel. Statt für Makeda interessiert sich der alte Pharao für ihre schöne Sklavin Theonis, die sich längst in den jungen Ägypter Ramphis verliebt hat. Der enttäuschte Samlak erklärt daraufhin Amenes den Krieg. Der Pharao unterliegt und scheint tot, und so ist das Glück von Theonis und Ramphis auch nur von begrenzter Dauer.

BESETZUNG: 2.2.2.2 – 4.2.3.1 – timp.2perc – hp – strings

 

Dieses Projekt wurde ermöglicht durch die Zusammenarbeit mit ZDF/ARTE.

Das Projekt wird durchgeführt und betreut durch die EUROPÄISCHE FILMPHILHARMONIE

Ansprechpartnerin: Beate Warkentien

Tel: 030-27890194

E-Mail: warkentien@remove-this.filmphilharmonie.de